2 Days Down….

10 Sep

Day 1 – Anchorage – Tok

Despite my best intentions, Anchorage to Whitehorse did not happen in one day. My lack of organization meant it was probably best to shorten the day, so I had a leisurely drive to Tok. I had to start the day going in the wrong direction though, for another yummy latte from Steam Dot (which is in south Anchorage), my favorite coffee house in town. I also had to buy a pound of coffee to drink a long the way. A 30 minute detour but well worth it!

The first day was a gorgeous drive, and I was fortunate enough to have sun for the first two hours. Of course, as soon as I decided to stop and take a picture, I hit clouds and rain, and it remained like this for the rest of the drive.

First Photo of the Trip, Still in the Mat-Su

The colors were amazing, though. The birch trees were such a vibrant yellow that at some points I thought the sun was shining. With some deep red ground cover and the dark green of the black spruce, it was pretty spectacular outside despite the clouds. Unfortunately I was not able to capture this on the camera – I still need to play with the settings on my point and shoot and see if I can capture reality a bit better. If anyone has any tips please share!

Trying to Show a Bit of Color

I didn’t see any wildlife, except for two swans. Hoping for something tomorrow, as I hear the drive through the Yukon and British Columbia has some great opportunities for sightings.

Near the Wrangell-St. Elias

I stayed at the Burnt Paw and Cabins Outback in Tok (no, I really don’t understand the name either), which is a small establishment with a few individual cabins. It’s cute and comfortable and immaculate – and typically Alaskan expensive! I was lucky to get the room, as everything was full for the weekend. My only minor annoyance was this morning. There was no seat available to have their free breakfast, so I decided to hit the road, but thought I would have them fill my thermos with coffee before I left. For the privilege I would have to pay them $2. On top of the $119 for the cabin and declining the free breakfast. I know, it’s kind of petty, on both our parts. Mornings are not my thing, and I really hate being nickled and dimed. I got a pretty decent thermos of coffee at the gas station instead, for $1.75. After paying $4.36 a gallon! This is not a cheap trip….

Day 2 – Tok – Whitehorse

The weather today was abysmal. As soon as I left the Canada Customs Post, it began to snow. And snow. And snow. It snowed almost non-stop for the next 4 hours, with a few breaks here and there.

I Bet You Wouldn’t Get Out of Your Vehicle Either….

Now, I love snow. But, I also know I missed some amazing scenery. The clouds were so thick and low that you really couldn’t see too far beyond the sides of the road in many areas. So disappointing!  At Destruction Bay I stopped to get gas, and asked the attendant if this was normal. He said it was indeed. No wildlife sightings either, other than…a rat. Hmmm….

Kluane Lake is quite a famous spot around here. Look it up on the net and see how beautiful it is on a sunny day. This was my view (still nice, but kind of limited)…

A Shrouded Kluane Lake

Around Haines Junction it finally cleared into a nice rain, and about 60 miles out of Whitehorse I saw the sun for about 10 minutes.

Somewhere Near Haines Junction

Because of the weather, I didn’t take time to stop and explore at all. Just drove drove drove. Made good time, and no back or neck problems so far.

Whitehorse, where I’m staying at the Historical B&B, is a neat town, with a historic commercial district along the Yukon River.

Yukon River – Downtown Whitehorse

It’s very friendly, surrounded by gorgeous landscape, and seems like a great place. I decided to take a walk before dinner, stopped and got a coffee, and then of course the skies opened up and I got drenched. Precipitation is definitely a theme of the day. To ease my suffering I had a nice dinner of grilled salmon.

Not very eventful today, and no crazy stories to be told, but I’m pretty happy with that given my ability to attract travel disaster. Tomorrow I’m off to Fort Nelson, and hoping for a stop at Laird Hot Springs….

See you then!

2 Responses to “2 Days Down….”

  1. livingtheakdream September 10, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    The animals knew you were coming and went into hiding….

  2. Alli September 12, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

    even with not understanding your settings, the photos are beautiful. It looks like a great trip so far! Wish I could take off from life for a bit and come drive with you!

Leave a Reply

