Day 3 – Whitehorse to Fort Nelson

12 Sep

Once again, no internet access in the north…. I’m sitting at a Tim Horton’s off the interstate going to Edmonton, trying to find a place to stay for the night, and updating yesterday. So…here you go!

Today’s drive was really fabulous. It was sunny most of the day, with just intermittent rain and clouds. Started early out of Whitehorse, and had some gorgeous scenery through the Yukon. I was in super-drive mode, and wasn’t taking time to stop and enjoy. So at Watson Lake, I decided to stop and have a bit of a cookout at the provincial campground there. I think I was the only person in the entire campground, so it was nice and peaceful. I was able to test out my new camp stove, which works great. It folds into a small flat pack that weighs just a few ounces and is smaller in height and width than a paperback. And I even started my fire with my flint, despite a doubting Thomas (you know who you are!).

Yum yum rib-eye…

In case you were wondering, the steak was very tasty. Also, that is a very small pan, it was only a 6 oz steak!

Watson Lake is large and clear, and looks like a fun place to play in the summer (and probably for frozen fun in the winter as well).

Watson Lake – Clear and Cold

For the Anglers….

The town of Watson Lake has one very interesting feature other than the lake – their sign post forest. This was started in 1942 by an Army engineer who was working on the construction of the Alcan. People still add to it now, and it has over 72,000 signs!

Man Made Forest

A Little More Detail

I liked the juxtaposing messages on this one: 🙂

Cookies or Heaven? Why Must We Choose?

After Watson Lake I finally had the long-awaited wildlife spotting. I saw several bison by the side of the road, and then a large herd. They are pretty huge and ugly-cute (or maybe just ugly) – except for the babies which are really cute. They were completely unbothered and uninterested by my presence, though I wasn’t interested in getting too close and seeing if they would react!

Bison….

Throughout the day I also spotted moose, fox, deer and black bear. I didn’t have a chance to get any shots of these, which was a shame, especially the bear. As dusk was turning into night, I saw tons of bear, but it was too difficult to stop on the highway without being a danger to other drivers.

There was lots of great scenery throughout the day.

After Watson Lake…Not Sure of the Name

Laird River

Muncho Lake – Half Rain Half Sun

South of Muncho Lake

Mid-afternoon I stopped at Liard Hot Springs, which I almost didn’t do as I had spent so much time hanging out at lunch and taking pictures through the day. But I’m so glad I did! It was really relaxing to sit and soak in the hot water, and felt great on my aching neck. It wasn’t too crowded given the lateness of the season, but I imagine is a mad house in the summer. I’m really looking forward to stopping there on my way back up when it will be really cold and mostly empty. The springs has great vegetation because of the warmth it gives, and it feels almost jungly. I wasn’t able to get a photo of the springs itself because I was worried about my camera, but this is on the walk into the springs…

Off the Path on the Way to the Hot Springs

Throughout my time I’ve been trying to determine where the road could seem a bit tricky when I’m driving back in October with a trailer. Today was the first day I felt there were some parts that were especially steep and/or curvy, especially around Muncho Lake up until Stone Mountain Provincial Park. The Stone Mountain area made me consider the number of ways one could slide over the edge down into a very steep canyon. Nice! Thankfully going back, the side of the road I’ll be on will be the side hugging the mountain (so don’t worry Elizabeth!).

I stayed in Fort Nelson for the night, which is a very small town. Not much to say about it as I arrived after dark and left first thing in the morning.

Sorry about the different picture sizes, pressed some wrong buttons….

2 Responses to “Day 3 – Whitehorse to Fort Nelson”

  1. Jane September 12, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

    Gorgeous pictures!

    • bigsquish September 15, 2012 at 2:46 am #

      It’s so beautiful. I’m impressed that you’re able to take photos, post and write after such full days of driving! Looking forward to seeing you when you’re further South! 🙂

Leave a Reply

