This and That

5 Oct

I’m ready to get home. Feeling worn out from juggling different things and trying to organize contractors and get estimates and take care of this and that. I just realized I’ve been gone for nearly a month. I have accomplished a lot, but not enough. Still much to do, but will be picking up my trailer on Saturday and bringing it down Sunday to start loading. Storage is not where it should be in terms of readiness, but fairly close. It would have gone faster had it not been infested with mice at some point, and as a result is now littered with thousands of tiny turds. Still need to sort out snow chains, but that’s the last major logistical issue for the trip which is good.

Spent half a day working on the yard today, and will spend a few hours there again tomorrow tidying things up. It’s interesting how people perceive themselves in terms of their skills. My tenant (who is super nice, so this is not a criticism of her), had mentioned to me before she moved in how much she loved gardening and yard work. Well – if I hadn’t known that, I would guess she hadn’t done much yard work – ever. I’m super anal about edging I’ve realized, and some people feel it isn’t necessary at all. Let’s just say that 4 months of little edging leads to a lot of work for those who are anal about edging and general yard tidiness. Front yard is looking fairly good now, though would need a few days to get things to where they used to be. Back yard isn’t quite as jungly as it was when I was down in May, so will not fuss too much with it. Exciting stuff I know. I do love me some yard work though. 

Today is my birthday, and two friends prepared a nice dinner for me (although I was very late due to a key mix-up with my tenant – a little frustrating to miss out on time with friends but mixups are very much a part of my life it seems). It was delicious, and nice to hang out with two great gals. I was grateful for the thoughtfulness and show of friendship. And the curry and the ice cream. 🙂

Tomorrow on my way to my folks I am stopping by to visit another friend for the evening, and looking forward to that as well. This trip has really been excellent for catching up with friends and family. After so many years of being out of the country, it’s nice to have the leisure to visit and see folks.

Well, that’s the round-up. Off to bed.

 

 

2 Responses to “This and That”

  1. Alli October 7, 2012 at 9:08 pm #

    I am glad you enjoyed dinner. Please don’t forget to take me up on my offer to help load the truck/trailer! I am here and I don’t have a job so I will be happy to help!

  2. Alli October 25, 2012 at 1:07 am #

    are you home yet? Update please! We love the kayak from you, it’s awesome and reminds of you every time we use it (3 times already this week!)

Leave a Reply

