Getting On…

6 Dec

After turkey week in NC, I managed to get the dog back up here without major incident (other than being misinformed by American Airlines regarding the kennel size, which then required me to rent a car and fly out of DC. Thanks American. Glad I double checked this time….). 

It’s nice to have him with me again, and am getting him adjusted to the cold. He has nice little fleece booties he wears, which he wasn’t a huge fan of at first. Until he went for a walk without them when he did the Frosty Tiptoe Tap Dance. Aside from the first 3 or 4 days he seems pretty unbothered by the new climate, and tonight we did a 3.5 mile walk when it was about -6*F. My thighs are still thawing out but he seems nice and toasty…even his ears were warm when we got in. 

In other news, I decided to start following a plant-based diet in order to get healthier and stay healthy through the winter. “Plant-based” is pretty much vegan, but I refuse to adhere to vegan wacko philosophy that rank bugs at the same level as people, so can’t come even close to calling myself that. I’m doing it purely for health, I still wear leather, and I still eat honey. I’m feeling great, and enjoying new combinations of food. It does make one extra gassy however, and when you are walking the dog in really cold weather, it’s amazing how it just hangs around… haha, TMI!

No job yet, and ready to find something. 

And no snow yet, and ready for that as well! Supposedly this weekend, we shall see. 

 

2 Responses to “Getting On…”

  1. Janet Snezek December 9, 2012 at 3:46 am #

    Missy — I am enjoying your journey of getting acclimated to Alaska, even though there isn’t snow as yet I’m sure it will come. Have a wonderful Christmas and I’m sure it will be a white one for you. Keep your “journal” going — I enjoy hearing what you are up to, and glad you are stateside.
    Janet Snezek

    • Grapenuts in AK December 9, 2012 at 10:23 am #

      Well we finally got snow today! 🙂 I hope I can keep this going, I haven’t been doing that well so far… 🙂 I hope you are well!

Leave a Reply

