Bye to the World, and Hello Apple Butter

21 Dec

So the world is ending today, right? Those pesky Mayans. To celebrate, I’ve made apple butter and am about to embark on pumpkin butter. Both recipes I obtained from the website Oh She Glows, which is a great resource for tasty plant-based cooking. A link to the apple butter recipe is here: Oh She Glows Apple Butter It’s really easy (practically effort-free), made in the slow cooker.

apple butter

Notice my fancy food styling with the lux iPhone 3G camera? I know you’re jealous.

It’s been pretty chilly as of late, single digits down to the negative digits. I still enjoy it though – I find I have more energy in the cold than in the warmth.

Today is also the winter solstice (wow, big day – end of world, solstice AND apple and pumpkin butter!). Will be nice to start extending our days again – it is hard to get out of bed in the mornings!

Well, I’m off for more mason jars for my upcoming pumpkin butter, before the world ends and the shops close. I know, the excitement never ceases round here….

2 Responses to “Bye to the World, and Hello Apple Butter”

  1. Alli December 21, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

    YUM, I love apple butter. I haven’t tried pumpkin butter but I bet I would love it too! Have fun, I am going to check out the recipe. 🙂

    • Grapenuts in AK December 21, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

      It’s really tasty – I made mind with half granny smith and half Fuji – which made it quite tart, so I added about 3 T of real maple syrup. If you want to make it without any added sweetener I’d suggest 2/3 sweet apples and 1/3 granny smith. I also added more spices – a little extra cinnamon, a pinch of cloves, and a few scrapes of nutmeg. It’s still very apple-y tasting….

Leave a Reply

