Hope Everyone Had a Merry Christmas!

27 Dec

Another Christmas has come and gone. It seems the build up to the season from a commercial perspective just gets longer and longer. And then suddenly – bam! – it’s done. We kept Christmas very simple this year. We did get a tree, and kicked off with a Christmas Eve service (the main point??), but even food (where I normally go a bit nuts with baking and cooking) was a simple but nice meal, a couple of presents exchanged, and an evening with some friends. Anyway, I hope all of you had a nice time with family and/or friends. 

I’m still enjoying eating a plant-based diet (although I did have a few slips on Christmas!), and feel so much better for it. I never want to get fanatical about it, but for now it has really been great for my system. I have recently gotten into making my own almond and soy milk. Both have worked great, and when you make them yourself from organic, non-GMO and pure ingredients, taste a thousand times better as well. 

Because I have all this spare time on my hands, I’ve been doing a lot of reading on nutrition and agriculture and all the associated. I found an interesting website, the Cornucopia Institute, and they have loads of info that I think many of my pals would find enlightening (or interesting or agreeable). I think in general as a nation we are too lackadaisical about how corporate agriculture has really taken the health out of a lot of our food. I’ve been reading stuff by Joel Salatin for years, and for the life of me can’t understand why this is not the model for our food supply. Well, I do understand, and I think we have politicians, lobbyists, and corruption in the government to thank (and yes, this issue crosses all party lines!). Why don’t people get upset over this?

Anyway…the temps are warm, the sky is blue and the snow is clean, so this beautiful day needs to be taken advantage of. A nice long walk is in order I think….

Leave a Reply

