Chili Deliciousness

6 Jan

Eating plant-based has been great for encouraging creativity in my cooking, as you can’t rely on an animal protein for a main course. Recently I was looking at Mark Bittman’s blog, and found a great recipe that was vegan and could easily have zero added oil. I made a couple of modifiers to his original recipe, although I imagine as is this Espresso Black Bean Chili would be just as delicious. It was, after all, developed by a genius. 🙂

My changes are:
1. In place of oil, sautee onions and garlic in a little water, adding tablespoon by tablespoon to keep the onion/garlic from sticking.
2. Add one medium size dried mulato chili, soaked and finely chopped. These are not spicy, but just have a great rich and smoky flavor to add some depth. If you can’t find these, I think you could also add a teaspoon or two of cocoa, which will pair nicely with the coffee.
3. I used 2 very strongly brewed cups of coffee as I don’t have an espresso maker and wanted to refrain from using instant.
4. I used 2 tablespoons of sucanat and 1 tablespoon of blackstrap molasses. Next time I might use grade B maple syrup in place of the sucanat.
5. I soaked my beans overnight (actually 2 nights as I didn’t get around to making this yesterday). Next time I might not soak them as he says in the recipe it’s not necessary. By soaking you lose a lot of that deep black color which I think would make the chili even more gorgeous – but am wondering about the gas factor. 🙂

The flavor of this chili is deep, smoky, spicy and really has that “umami” flavor that everyone seems to love to talk about.

I’m making some spelt flour tortillas to go with, and topping with salsa and fresh cilantro. If you are eating dairy, I can’t imagine how awesome this would be with cheese and sour cream. Avocado would also make a great addition. Pair with a stout!

The picture does not do justice but here you go:
espresso chili

Makes about 6 servings
Nutritional Info for 1 serving (based on my changes):
330 calories/ 9 WW points
1.3 g fat (0 cholesterol)
65 carbs
13 g fiber
15 g sugars
17.6 g protein
35% RDA iron
24% RDA vitamin C
12% RDA vitamin A
12% RDA calcium

2 Responses to “Chili Deliciousness”

  1. Paul King January 6, 2013 at 5:48 pm #

    Wonderful – I admire your resolve. I have had similar ideas but they will wait until I finally leave this place (end of June – promise). I don’t think I would go vegan, but I recently read Barbara Kingsolver’s book “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle” and I think you would enjoy it…. Be warm!

    • Grapenuts in AK January 7, 2013 at 2:25 am #

      I don’t think I’ll go plant-based forever, especially during salmon season. 🙂 But I was pretty inspired by the Forks Over Knives movie, have you seen it? I’ll read Kingsolver’s book – have been looking for a new read. How much longer are you over there? That’s a hard place to be healthy.

Leave a Reply

