Iditarod

5 Mar

Well, I didn’t realize it had been nearly two months since writing in here. I doubt anyone will check that I still am updating at this point! Nevertheless, I did get to watch the ceremonial start of the Iditarod on Saturday, and it was a lot of fun. I took a few crappy pictures on my iPhone, though next year will bring a proper camera. There are some great photo ops!

iditarod 2

Iditarod 1

While the actual race starts in Willow (north of Anchorage), all the competitors participate in the ceremonial start in Anchorage the day before the official start. It runs from downtown to Campbell Airstrip which is on the eastern side of the city. The actual starting area on 4th Ave is a good place to hang out, as there is an announcer who gives the background of the musher, and a countdown to their start. During my short time at the starting area there were mushers from New Zealand, Canada, Brazil and of course the States.

I was hoping to upload a short video clip, but with my (lack of) technological capabilities I’m a bit challenged in that regards at the moment. So will try to edit later.

In the meantime, if you feel like reading up on the history of the 1,000 mile race, be sure to check out the official Iditarod website.

2 Responses to “Iditarod”

  1. Alli March 5, 2013 at 5:03 am #

    I check often to see if you have updated šŸ™‚ those are some pretty dogs šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

