Quinoa Peanut Soup

10 Mar

Eating Well magazine had some recipes for quinoa in their latest addition (here’s a link to the original http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/quinoa_peanut_soup.html). The one recipe I have tried is so good that I’ve made it twice in a week. I believe it’s based on a South American recipe, but the flavors to me are reminiscent of Indonesian cooking so I amped up a few of the ingredients this time to give it a bit more of that flavor. I added a bit of lime to my bowl as well, and I liked the way it brightened it up, although without it it is rich and earthy. I make my recipes without cooking oil as much as possible, but if you’d prefer to sauté the onions and garlic in a tablespoon or two of olive oil, go for it.

peanut butter and pepper

2 small onions, chopped (about a cup)

2 cloves garlic, minced

1.5 cups sliced carrots

1.5 cups diced potato

1/2 c quinoa

6 – 8 c vegetable or chicken broth (or combo of broth and water)

2 red bell peppers, chopped

1/4 – 1/3 c natural peanut butter (I went with 1/3 this time, and liked the extra peanut flavor)

1 – 2 T sambal olek (or more if you want it spicy)

Fresh ground black pepper to taste

chopped cilantro or parsley for garnish

Heat soup pot and add onions. Saute for a few minutes until tender, adding water or chicken broth a tablespoon at a time to prevent sticking. Add garlic and saute for a minute, then add carrot, potato, quinoa and broth. Simmer covered for 20 minutes, and add red bell pepper. Simmer an additional couple of minutes, and add peanut butter and sambal olek. Take off heat and add black pepper. When serving sprinkle with cilantro or parsley. Add a squeeze of lime if desired.

quinoa peanut butter soup

Leave a Reply

