Cookie Quest

4 Aug

So there is this bakery in Anchorage that we love, and they make the best chocolate chip cookies I have ever had. As a result, I’ve been trying to mimic them, and quite unsuccessfully.

The Fire Island cookies are slightly puffy, with a crisp outside and a soft and wonderfully rich flavor inside, with notes of brown butter and caramel. I tried several recipes for “puffy” chocolate chip cookies, and had no luck. They were either pale with a soft exterior and too cake-like, or melted down like regular cookies, or had too much of a baking powder taste.

I then came across this article, with some good science behind the ingredients in chocolate chip cookies. It was attached to this recipe which I adapted below. I really really like how these came out, although I think I may try them next time by replacing one of the eggs for two egg whites, and using 3 ounces of white sugar and 7 ounces of brown. The below recipe is still a bit chewy, but they do have a bit of rise, are wonderfully moist, and a great salty bite.

8 ounces (2 sticks) unsalted butter
10 ounces (about 2 cups) all-purpose flour
½ t baking soda
¾ t baking powder
2 teaspoons kosher salt or 1 teaspoon table salt
10 ounces brown sugar
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
8 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips, mini

Beat butter until fluffy. Add sugar and beat again until sugar is very well incorporated and it has a light texture. Add eggs and vanilla and beat again until really really fluffy! Add dry ingredients (which you have pre-mixed) and mix on low until just incorporated. Add chips and give another couple of stirs. Refrigerate at least overnight, but preferably 2 or 3 days (really, this helps. I know most of us do not pre-plan our cookie baking but being patient in this case will have its rewards). Form dough into golf ball sized balls and place on parchment paper or silpat on baking sheet. Bake at 375 for 13 – 16 minutes, until lightly brown. I did find with this recipe that the cookies were easy to underbake, so bake them just a little more brown than you normally would.

Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Cookie Quest”

  1. Allison Stusse August 5, 2014 at 1:51 pm #

    Did any of the trial recipes use Crisco? I have always used regular flavor but butter flavor adds the butter element but with a nice puffy touch. I can send you mine if you want to give them a shot. The other part is more brown sugar than white for the caramel note. 🙂 I miss you girl.

    • Grapenuts in AK August 5, 2014 at 1:56 pm #

      Hey woman! Yes, one did – it was Alton Brown’s “puffy” recipe. I like to use butter though, I think it has better flavor. Right now I am on a cookie hiatus, as I do not need to eat any hahahaha. Try the one I put up and tell me what you think, I thought they were yummy! How’s life in CA? When are you back to NC?

Leave a Reply

